Red Hot Chili Peppers return today (October 14th) with their 14th studio set and second new album of 2022. Like last May’s Unlimited Love collection, the new double-album Return Of The Dream Canteen album was also produced by Rick Rubin. Unlimited Love debuted at Number One, marking the band’s first chart-topper since 2006’s Stadium Arcadium and its second with returning guitarist John Frusciante.

When announcing the new set, the band posted on their social media platforms, “We went in search of ourselves as the band that we have somehow always been. Just for the fun of it we jammed and learned some old songs. Before long we started the mysterious process of building new songs. A beautiful bit of chemistry meddling that had befriended us hundreds of times along the way. Once we found that slip stream of sound and vision, we just kept mining. With time turned into an elastic waist band of oversized underwear, we had no reason to stop writing and rocking.”

The band went on to write, “It felt like a dream. When all was said and done, our moody love for each other and the magic of music had gifted us with more songs than we knew what to do with. Well we figured it out. 2 double albums released back to back.”

Red Hot Chili Peppers perform on Sunday (October 16th) in Austin, Texas at Austin City Limits Music Festival.


The tracklisting to Red Hot Chili Peppers’ Return Of The Dream Canteen is:

“Tippa My Tongue”
“Peace and Love”
“Reach Out”
“Fake as Fu@k”
“My Cigarette”
“Shoot Me A Smile”
“The Drummer”
“Bag Of Grins”
“La La La La La La La La”
“Carry Me Home”
“In The Snow”

CHECK IT OUT: The live premiere of the Chili Peppers’ Eddie Van Halen tribute “Eddie” performed on October 9th, 2022 live in Austin: