Out today (September 9th) is Ozzy Osbourne‘s latest album, Patient Number 9 — which marks Ozzy’s 13th solo set, which was once again produced by Andrew Watt.

Patient Number 9 features guest spots by such legendary players Black Sabbath bandmate Tommy Iommi, Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith, Jeff Beck, Guns N’ RosesDuff McKagan, Zakk Wylde, Pearl Jam‘s Mike McCready, Queens Of The Stone Age‘s Josh Homme, andformer Ozzy bassist and current Metallica member Robert Trujillo.

During a chat with Kerrang!, Ozzy explained the impetus for heading into the studio again: “I’ve always got to be doing something. I can’t sit still, me. I’ve got attention deficit disorder, so I can’t stay in one place too long. I’ve got to keep moving. (The) Ordinary Man (album) had come together quite quickly. So I said to Andrew, ‘Are we gonna do another album?’ He just said, ‘Yeah!'”

He went on to say, “I never say, ‘Oh I’m going to do an album (about this or that) — I just co-write with people. It’s like a relationship when you’re making a record. Andrew and I always start off friendly. We fall out. We get back together again. At the end of the day you get married to it. Then again, if making records was that easy, everyone would be doing it!”

In recent years, Ozzy Osbourne, who’s now 73, has dealt with a seemingly non-stop string of health issues — including a nasty fall, the onset of Parkinson’s disease, multiple staph infections, pneumonia, the flu, a burst blood vessel in his eye — and most recently, “life-altering” surgery that involved removing and realigning pins in his neck and back.


  • Ozzy Osbourne‘s last studio set — and his first solo album in a decade — Ordinary Man, was released on February 21st, 2020 and peaked at Number Three on the Billboard 200.
  • Ozzy worked on Ordinary Man with Post Malone producer Andrew Watt, who also played guitar on the disc.  
  • The LP featured Duff McKagan from Guns N’ Roses on bass and Chad Smith from Red Hot Chili Peppers on drums, along with guest appearances from Post Malone, Elton John, Slash, and Tom Morello.

CHECK IT OUT: The 2022 video for Ozzy Osbourne & Jeff Beck’s “Patient Number 9”:

CHECK IT OUT: Ozzy Osbourne’s “Nothing Feels Right” featuring Zakk Wylde:


CHECK IT OUT: Ozzy Osbourne’s “Degradation Rules” with Tony Iommi: