Out today (January 21st) is John Mellencamp‘s 25th album, Strictly A One-Eyed Jack, which features three new collaborations with Bruce Springsteen.

The new team-ups come after a series get-togethers by the pair in their respective parts of the country. Back on September 16th, Springsteen and Mellencamp were spotted in Bay Head, New Jersey. The two legends posed for a picture with a fan on a boardwalk and were seen enjoying lunch together at the local Duyne Grass Cafe.

In April 2021, “The Boss” was spotted out to dinner with Mellencamp in his hometown of Bloomington, Indiana after laying down guitar and vocals on album.

Mellencamp spoke about the connection he and Springsteen share, telling USA Today, “Bruce and I have grown to be almost brothers, and I love the guy. He’s been an inspiration and I told him, you made me work harder, I’ve gotta compete with that. Bruce was a blessing to me all along. Maybe I didn’t see it that way, but I do now.”

On how the new music took shape between the two, Mellencamp explained, “Bruce came to Indiana and stayed at my house. I have a studio (nearby). He stayed for four or five days. Bruce is a good guy. He’s a sweet guy, and I think the world of him. We come from very similar backgrounds — small towns. I think I had it a little easier than Bruce as a kid. I had a motorcycle, my dad was vice president of an electrical firm, I never wanted for money. I was singing in rock bands and playing in bars when I was 12. I was making money. I was the best-dressed kid in my class.”

The tracklisting to John Mellencamp’s ‘Strictly A One-Eyed Jack’ is:

“I Always Lie To Strangers”
“Driving In The Rain”
“I Am A Man That Worries”
“Streets Of Galilee”
“Sweet Honey Brown”
“Did You Say Such A Thing” – with Bruce Springsteen
“Gone So Soon”
“Wasted Days” – with Bruce Springsteen
“Simply A One-Eyed Jack”
“Chasing Rainbows”
“Lie To Me”
“A Life Full Of Rain” – with Bruce Springsteen


  • On December 9th, 2019, Bruce Springsteen and John Mellencamp teamed up at Manhattan’s Beacon Theatre for Sting and wife Trudie Styler‘s all-star concert to benefit The Rainforest Fund.
  • The highlight of the ’80s-based show was Mellencamp’s rendition of “Jack & Diane,” followed by “The Boss” joining him for “Pink Houses” and Mellencamp returning the favor during “Glory Days,” before Springsteen played “Dancing In The Dark.”
  • Also performing were the Eurythmics, Bob GeldofDebbie Harry & DMCShaggyRicky Martin, and James Taylor, among others.


  • This summer marks the 35th anniversary of John Cougar Mellencamp‘s six-times platinum album, The Lonesome Jubilee.
  • The set, which was released on August 24th, 1987, peaked at Number Six on the Billboard 200 albums chart and spawned three hit singles — “Paper In Fire” (#9), “Cherry Bomb” (#8), and “Check It Out” (#14).
  • The Lonesome Jubilee, which was Mellencamp’s ninth studio set, hit Number One in Canada.

CHECK IT OUT: John Mellencamp on September 25th, 2021 in Hartford, Connecticut premiering “I Always Lie To Strangers” live at Farm Aid: