Former-Journey frontman Steve Perry released his first Christmas collection, titled, The Season, today (November 5th.) The album features eight newly recorded holiday classics — including such jazz-based standards as “Winter Wonderland,” “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas,” and “Silver Bells.”

Steve Perry spoke about the new album, explaining, “All the songs on this record were my favorites growing up. I used to hear them on the Philco radio that my grandmother always had on in the kitchen when she was cooking the most amazing holiday food, and because of that they hold a very emotional place in my heart. I wanted to make sure to record them all in a simple way that honors how I first heard and fell in love with them as a child.”

Perry, who’s renowned for possessing one of rock’s greatest set off pipes went on to say, “One of the things I love most about those traditional recordings is they’re not coming at you like a rock song — they’re just sitting there quietly and inviting you in. I’d never sung with that much simplicity before, and it was incredibly thrilling to bring that kind of expression to these songs.”


  • Steve Perry is best remembered for his tenure in Journey in which he wrote or co-wrote such standards as “Don’t Stop Believin’,” “Any Way You Want It,” “Who’s Crying Now?” “Separate Ways (Worlds Apart),” “When You Love A Woman,” “Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin,'” “Open Arms,” “Be Good To Yourself,” “Stone In Love,” “Still They Ride,” “Feeling That Way,” and “Lights.”
  • Perry scored a solo Top 10 hit with 1984’s “Oh, Sherrie,” which peaked at Number Two.


The tracklisting to Steve Perry’s ‘The Season’ album is

“The Christmas Song”
“I’ll Be Home For Christmas”
“Auld Lang Syne”
“Winter Wonderland”
“What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve” 
“Santa Claus Is Coming To Town” 
“Silver Bells” 
“Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”

CHECK IT OUT: Steve Perry’s 2021 version of “Winter Wonderland”: