Port Royal Speedway Set to Host Two Events as Part of the 32nd Annual PA Speedweek
Jun 27, 2022

Courtesy of Port Royal Speedway

By Justin Snyder

Port Royal Speedway- PORT ROYAL, PA-  (June 27, 2022)- Port Royal Speedway is set to return to racing Wednesday, June 29th and Saturday, July 2nd as part of the 32nd Annual Pennsylvania Speedweek presented by Red Robin Racing. This year’s ten-race schedule will visit six different speedways in Pennsylvania and Maryland and features an increased point fund for drivers who support all ten events.

The point fund will pay out a total of $23,700; 1. $6000 2, $3000 3. $2000 4. $1500 5. $1200 and $1000 for the next 10 competitors who compete in all events. This is all on top of the nightly purses

Specific to the Port Royal Speedway, Wednesday’s time trial event will pay $7000 to the winner of the Weikert’s Livestock 410 Sprint car feature and the United Racing Club 360 Sprint Cars will also be on the schedule racing for $2000.

Anthony Macri won the last feature event at the Speedway and he will be looking to make it two in-a-row Wednesday night for his seventh win of the season at the track.

Four-time defending track champion Logan Wagner enters the week as the points leader with Jeff Halligan in second trailing by 210 points. Mike Wagner (-225), Lucas Wolfe (-435) and Justin Whittall(-465) round out the top five.

Jason Shultz picked up the most  recent win with the URC 360 Sprint Car Series at the Speedway earlier this season, while Macri picked up last year’s URC feature win as part of Speedweek. Macri and Shultz both own two career URC victories at the Speedway while Steve Buckwalter, Lucas Wolfe, Greg Hodnett (2), Mark Smith, Randy West, Ryan Wilson, Earl Halaquist and Hank Rogers Sr. are also past winners at the Speedway.

Gates open at 4:30 pm EST and racing is set to kick off at 7:30pm EST.

General Admission- $20, Students- $10, Pits- $30

Saturday’s event will once again honor the late Greg Hodnett for the fourth consecutive season as it will be the Greg Hodnett Classic paying $10,000 to the winner.

Also, on the card for the night will be the Krill Recycling, LLC Super Late Models racing for $3000. Colton Flinner has absolutley dominated in Super Late Model action at the Speedway in 2022 and he currently leads the standings by 180 points over Gary Stuhler with Mike Lupfer (-335), Chad Myers (-555) and Kyle Lee (-570) rounding out the top five.

The event will once again be an all-day affair as several activities are planned to honor Hodnett and to benefit to The Greg Hodnett Foundation, which was established to honor the memory of Hodnett and benefits the families of drivers who may pass away racing.

Activities will kick off at 9:00am ESTwith the 4th Annual Greg Hodnett Foundation 5k run/walk. Race-day registration is at 8:00am and there is a $40 registration fee or $35 pre-registration at http://www.greghodnettfoundation.com. Prizes will be awarded to the top three male and female winners per age group and the top overall male and female.

In addition to the 5k, there will be a Cornhole tournament presented by Mid Penn Cornhole to benefit the foundation and the cost/person to register is $20. Partners will be random selection and registration starts at 10:30am, with the tournament schedule to begin at 11:45am. Cash prizes will be handed out to the top three teams.

Finally, there will also be an auction featuring several pieces of memorabilia and various donated items to benefit the foundation. Hodnett’s car owner, Mike Heffner, will host the auction and they are continuing to accept donations up until the day of the event. There will also be a table with merchandise for sale to include the brand-new Greg Hodnett Memorial shirts.

Saturday- Gates Open at 4:30 with Racing Set to Begin at 7:30 pm.

General Admission- $25, Students- $10, Pits $35

Pennsylvania Speedweek has been a yearly tradition at the Juniata County Speedway dating back to 1998, where Jeff Shepard picked up the first victory. Other winners include Lance Dewease (4), Don Kreitz Jr., Keith Kauffman (4), Mark Smith, Todd Shaffer, Fred Rahmer, Cody Darrah, Greg Hodnett (3), Justin Henderson, Tyler Walker, Blaine Heimbach, Lucas Wolfe (4), Steve Buckwalter, Danny Dietrich, Anthony Macri and Kyle Larson (2).

Danny Dietrich enters the week as the defending speedweek champion, and he will be looking for his fourth overall triumph in the series. Other past champions include Fred Rahmer (12), Greg Hodnett (5), Dewease (3), Kauffman, Steve Smith, Stevie Smith and Larson.

Please continue to stay tuned to our website www.portroyalspeedway.com and our various social media outlets for all updated information throughout the week.

Follow TeamCHX

on Facebook!