Carson: First day results from Day 1 of Ultimate Warrior competition
Jan 27, 2023


ALLPORT – Six area wrestlers advanced to the semifinals on day one of the Ultimate Warrior Tournament at West Branch High School on Friday.

Mifflin County moved Hunter Johnson (121), Parker Kearns (152), Deakon Schaeffer (160), and Peyton Kearns (285) into the semis. Bald Eagle Area pushed Coen Bainey (127) and Caleb Close (172) into the semifinals.

Johnson has outscored his opponents 26-1, recording two technical falls and a fall. Parker Kearns had a fall and a major decision before defeating Central Mountain’s Braylen Corter 9-4 in the quarterfinals. The Husky senior hooks up with Indiana’s Carter Putt in the semis, while Parker Kearns faces Central York’s Carter Davis.

Schaeffer beat Louden Murphy of Southern Columbia 9-4 in the quarters. He got there with a fall in the first round and a major decision in the second round. Peyton Kearns knocked off second seed Gavin Thompson of Brockway 2-1 in the second round. He advanced to the semifinals with a 2-0 win over Armstrong’s Philip Rearick.

Schaeffer hooks up with Bradford’s Lucas Laktash in the semifinals. Peyton Kearns goes against Carson Neely of Port Allegheny in his semifinal match.

Bainey has had a quick run in the tournament, scoring a 17-1 tech fall in the first round and then back-to-back falls in 33 and 49 seconds. The Eagle meets Midd-West’s Matthew Smith in the semis.

Close had a fall in the first round, a 13-3 major decision in the second round, and a fall in 1:38 in the quarterfinals. The Eagle sophomore faces Jalen Wagner of Reynolds in the semifinals.

State-ranked Lucas Fye did not participate for BEA.

Juniata brought only an eight-man contingent, with state qualifier Casey Smith one of the absentees. The Indians did not get a semifinalist. Juniata has Taylor Smith (139) and Lane Peiper (215) in the consolations.

Still alive in the consolations for the Huskies are Kamden Everly (127), Blake Aumiller (133), Lucas Sheetz (139), Colby Seiler (139), Jacob Cunningham (145), and Avery Aurand (172).

BEA has Mason Reese (145), Jeffre Pifer (152), Cameron Dubbs (160), and Gage Gardner (215) are still alive in consolations.

Philipsburg-Osceola had no semifinalists but have three moving on in consolations in the form of Caleb Hummel (107), Sam McDonald (114), and Marcus Gable (152).

Mifflin County is second in the team race with 96.5 points. Central Mountain leads with 116 points. BEA is ninth with 67.5 points, P-O is 25th with 34 points, and Juniata is 34th with 24 points.

Semifinal action gets underway at 9 a.m. on Saturday.

Follow TeamCHX

on Facebook!