Newly released are two classic Ronnie James Dio-fronted Black Sabbath albums — 1980’s Heaven And Hell and 1982’s Mob Rules. Each record was issued digitally, as a double-CD and two-LP set. Due to space constraints, both vinyl editions include a selection of bonus material from the CD’s.


  • Ronnie James Dio replaced Ozzy Osbourne in Black Sabbath in 1979, with Heaven And Hell earning the band rave reviews with such instant classics as “Neon Knights” and the title track.
  • The album hit Number Nine in Britain and topped out at Number 28 in the U.S., where it was also certified platinum.
  • 1981’s Mob Rules included drummer Vinny Appice joining the band, with the album soon certified gold on the strength of such favorites as “The Sign Of The Southern Cross,” “Turn Up The Night,” and the title track.


  • The Ronnie James Dio-fronted lineup of Black Sabbath disbanded in 1982 but reunited a decade later to record Dehumanizer and tour before going on hiatus again.
  • The group came together again in 2006 to record three new songs for Rhino’s era-spanning collection, Black Sabbath: The Dio Years. The collaboration led to a highly anticipated world tour in 2007 where the group was billed as Heaven And Hell.
  • The band’s final album of new material was 2009’s The Devil You Know.

CHECK IT OUT: Black Sabbath on October 17th, 1980 performing “Neon Knights” live at Long Island’s Nassau Coliseum: