The first-ever virtual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony was broadcast on HBO on Saturday night (November 7th), marking the first time the Rock Hall has inducted its members online. In lieu of actual performances, each inductee was saluted by a primary inductor, a montage of vintage footage, with testimonials filling in their story by spotlighting their career and artistic highlights.

The 2020 Rock Hall class included the Doobie Brothers, T. Rex, Whitney Houston, Depeche Mode, Nine Inch Nails, and the Notorious B.I.G. Jon Landau — Bruce Springsteen’s manager and producer, along with music mogul and Eagles manager Irving Azoff, both received the Ahmet Ertegun Award. The annual “in memoriam” section featured an expanded tribute to the late-Eddie Van Halen.

Among those appearing were such heavyweights as Ringo Starr, Dave Grohl, Bruce Springsteen, Jackson Browne, Don Henley, Alicia Keyes, Coldplay’s Chris Martin, Luke Bryan, Sean “Diddy” Combs, Charlize Theron, Judd Apatow, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Brad Paisley, St. Vincent, and Gwen Stefani.


  • To be eligible for this year’s Rock Hall ballot, each nominee’s first single or album had to have been released in 1994 or earlier.
  • The other artists shortlisted for induction that didn’t make the final cut this year are: Pat Benatar, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, MC5, Motörhead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden, Thin Lizzy, and Dave Matthews Band.
  • 2020 marked the first time an artist — the Dave Matthews Band — won the fan vote but failed to go on to secure induction.

CHECK IT OUT: The Eddie Van Halen tribute from the 2020 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame as shown on HBO: