Out now on limited edition red vinyl is the 40th anniversary edition of Loverboy’s self-titled debut. Originally released in October 1980, Loverboy peaked at Number 13 on the Billboard 200 and featured such early band classics as “The Kid Is Hot Tonight,” “Little Girl,” and “Turn Me Loose” — Loverboy’s first hit, which hit Number Six on the Billboard Top Rock Tracks chart.

Frontman Mike Reno looked back at the band’s breakthrough debut set, recalling, “Boy did we get lucky in late 1979 to work with the best in the business, (producer) Bruce Fairbairn and (engineer) Bob Rock. . . oh and don’t forget (assistant engineer) Mike Frazer. This record still sounds great.”

Guitarist Paul Dean went on to say, “Considering we recorded (it) 40 years ago, I think it holds up really well. Especially on this new deluxe vinyl edition, I would say it’s the best it’s ever sounded.”


  • Loverboy, a formidable early presence on MTV, will forever be known for their string of nine Top 40 hits, including “Turn Me Loose” (#35), “Working For The Weekend” (#29), “Hot Girls In Love” (#11), and “Lovin’ Every Minute Of It” (#9).”
  • In 1984, frontman Mike Reno and Heart’s Ann Wilson scored a Number Seven hit with the Eric Carmen co-written smash “Almost Paradise” which was featured in that year’s blockbuster, Footloose.
  • Loverboy’s most recent album, called Unfinished Business, was released on July 15th, 2014.

CHECK IT OUT: Loverboy’s video for 1980’s “Turn Me Loose”: