Jimmy Page took to his social media platforms to salute the 51st anniversary this week of 1969’s Led Zeppelin II. Page, who also produced the album, posted: “It began with rehearsals at my home in Pangbourne and ‘Whole Lotta Love’ and ‘What Is And What Should Never Be’ were later recorded at London’s Olympic Studio Number 1 with George Chkiantz, who engineered the basic tracks and some guitar overdubs. This provided the foundation for the rest of the tracks to be recorded and overdubbed at various studios in America during our forthcoming tour.” ⁣ Page went on to write, “We recorded and overdubbed our way from West Coast to East Coast with tour-fuelled energy. I did the final mixes with Eddie Kramer at A&R studios in New York. The hedonistic mix of ‘Whole Lotta Love’ was to pioneer the radio success of the album.”

Led Zeppelin II was released on October 22nd 1969. The album featured such instant classics as “Whole Lotta Love,” “What Is And What Should Never Be,” “The Lemon Song,” “Thank You,” “Heartbreaker,” “Living Loving Maid (She’s Just A Woman),” “Ramble On,” “Moby Dick,” and “Bring It On Home.”


  • Engineer George Chkiantz worked with Led Zeppelin on five of its nine studio albums — Led Zeppelin (1969), Led Zeppelin II (1969), Led Zeppelin IV (1971), Houses Of The Holy (1973), and Physical Graffiti (1975).
  • In addition to his session with Zeppelin, Chkiantz was an engineer on the Beatles’ 1967 chart-topper “All You Need Is Love,” along with the Rolling Stones’ Let It Bleed and It’s Only Rock N’ Roll albums.
  • Chkiantz is also know for his work with Jimi Hendrix, Blind Faith, the Small Faces, Hawkwind, the Move, Albert King, Ten Years After, King Crimson, and Slade, among others.


  • Earlier this year, Billboard has posted Nielsen Music’s tally of the Led Zeppelin catalogue from the moment the band’s catalogue first went digital, compiling the data between November 2007 and in streams in December 2015, both through July 12th, 2018.
  • Billboard posted the 94-song list is “based on revenue generated by digital activity since the band’s music first became available at download stores like iTunes and on-demand services like Spotify.”
  • One thing the list, which includes YouTube plays, does not clarify is which specific version of each song — studio, live, or outtake — has been chosen for the ranking.

Top 20 Led Zeppelin songs via Nielsen Music tally of digital streaming services:

  1. “Stairway To Heaven” ($2,903,223.42)
  2. “Kashmir” ($1,421,130.32)
  3. “Immigrant Song” ($1,306,140.94)
  4. “Black Dog” ($1,167,232.19)
  5. “Whole Lotta Love” ($1,034,129.29)
  6. “Ramble On” ($888,793.61)
  7. “Over The Hills And Far Away” ($757,125.57)
  8. “Goin’ To California” ($694,689.56)
  9. “Rock And Roll” ($636,985.97)
  10. “D’yer Mak’er” ($553,459.73)
  11. “When The Levee Breaks” ($547,514.60)
  12. “All My Love” ($536,716.87)
  13. “Fool In The Rain” ($497,152.94)
  14. “Good Times, Bad Times” ($484,799.06)
  15. “Dazed And Confused” ($443,730.10)
  16. “Babe, I’m Gonna Leave You” ($407,165.31)
  17. “Hey, Hey What Can I Do” ($383,439.92)
  18. “The Ocean” ($356,840.76)
  19. “Heartbreaker” ($347,498.72)
  20. “Misty Mountain Hop” ($306,642.32)

CHECK IT OUT: “What Is And What Should Never Be” from 1969’s Led Zeppelin II: