Coming on February 12th will be the new “Super Deluxe” edition of Black Sabbath Vol. 4. The 1972 classic has been newly remastered with 20 previously unreleased studio and live recordings. The set will be available as both a four-CD and five-LP set.

According to the box set’s press release:

The generous addition of bonus material on Vol 4: “Super Deluxe Edition” begins with six previously unreleased studio outtakes from the original sessions for the album. Each one has been newly mixed by Steven Wilson using the analog multi-tracks. Highlights include outtakes for “Supernaut” and “Changes,” as well an instrumental version of “Under The Sun.”

The set also features 11 additional studio recordings (also newly mixed by Wilson from the analog multi-tracks) that spotlight alternative takes, false starts and snippets of studio dialogue. These tracks transport listeners into the studio with the band and offer some insight into the making of the album. Along with several alternative takes for “Wheels Of Confusion,” these recordings also include outtakes for “The Straightener” and “Snowblind.”

The collection concludes with a searing collection of live performances that re-create a typical setlist from Black Sabbath’s tour for Vol 4. Recorded in March 1973 at various stops along the band’s UK tour. The recordings were originally slated for a live album that was ultimately shelved. Although some of these performances have been previously available in various states, the release marks the first time that a full 1973 live Sabbath show has been recreated.


The tracklisting for the “Super Deluxe” edition of Black Sabbath Vol. 4. is:

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

“Wheels Of Confusion / The Straightener”
“Tomorrow’s Dream”
“Laguna Sunrise”
“St. Vitus Dance”
“Under The Sun / Every Day Comes And Goes”

Disc Two: Outtakes – New Mixes

“Wheels Of Confusion / The Straightener”
“Laguna Sunrise”
“Under The Sun” (Instrumental)

Disc Three: Alternative Takes, False Starts & Studio Dialogue

“Wheels Of Confusion” (False Start with Studio Dialogue)
“Wheels Of Confusion” (Alternative Take 1)
“Wheels Of Confusion” (Alternative Take 2)
“Wheels Of Confusion” (Alternative Take 3)
“Wheels Of Confusion” (Alternative Take 4)
“The Straightener” (Outtake)
“Supernaut” (Outtake)
“Supernaut” (Alternative Takes with False Starts)
“Snowblind” (Alternative Take 1 – Incomplete)
“Under The Sun” (False Start with Studio Dialogue)
“Under The Sun” (Alternative Take with Guide Vocal)

Disc Four: Live In The UK 1973

“Tomorrow’s Dream”
“Sweet Leaf”
“War Pigs”
“Killing Yourself To Live”
“Wicked World” (Includes Excerpts of:)
Guitar Solo
“Into The Void”
“Sometimes I’m Happy”
“Supernaut” / Drum Solo
“Wicked World” (Reprise)
“Children Of The Grave”

CHECK IT OUT: Black Sabbath’s 1972 track, “Snowbound”: